A CMA Prediction Post-Mortem

On a night where the biggest winner of all was probably Bill Murray, let’s take brief moment to evaluate my CMA predictions.

What I got right:

  • Single of the Year (“Die A Happy Man”)
  • Female Vocalist of the Year (Carrie Underwood)
  • Vocal Group of the Year (Little Big Town)

What I got wrong but am okay with:

    • Entertainer of the Year (Garth Brooks)Almost thirty years into his career, Garth Brooks still knows how to put on a show. He can sell out a show like that, and you’ve got to respect a man with that kind of star power.
    • Album of the Year (Mr. Misunderstood, Eric Church)I was admittedly a little underwhelmed by Dierks Bentley’s Black, and other critics have been pretty effusive in their praise of Mr. Misunderstood.
    • Song of the Year (“Humble And Kind,” Lori McKenna)I thought this song had an outside shot, and honestly, I can’t get mad about a song as well-written and uplifting as this one.
    • Male Vocalist of the Year (Chris Stapleton)I’m not Chris Stapleton’s biggest fan, but I have to admit, he can sing the heck out of a song, and the CMA voters agree.
    • New Artist of the Year (Maren Morris)At least it wasn’t Cole Swindell. I would have preferred to see Kelsea Ballerini win this award, but let’s be honest: After getting nominated for that many awards, Morris had to win something.
    • Musical Event of the Year (“Different For Girls,” Dierks Bentley and Elle King)None of these were particularly memorable this year, so…six of one, half dozen of the other.
    • Musician of the Year (Dan Huff)Because all musicians are awesome.

What I got wrong and am not okay with:

      • Vocal Duo of the Year (Brothers Osborne)I don’t like Florida-Georgia Line, but you can’t argue with their success (as opposed to the one-hit wonder that is Brothers Osborne). The brothers had no business winning this award, and the CMAs should offer FGL an apology for their oversight.

So what’s the takeaway from all this? Easy: I know nothing about how awards show work. (Don’t blame me; I was watching the Cubs like everyday else.)

See you next year!

